Tales from KZ

Kazakhstan. Perry. A New Community.

SMS Kazakhstan

My friend, Chiara, has been traveling around Kazakhstan for the last few weeks.  Here are some of her text messages:

Astana is cold.

This bus could be anywhere for all I know, kind of looks like a snowy version of the moon.

I don’t know…I’m somewhere…I hope.

Just 2 more hours. I’m lonely and I really want a cheeseburger.

Feeling super nauseous…how far is the apt?

Someone just took a SHIT in front of the mosque mall

Having a WEIRD day in aralsk

Everyone seems to think I’m going to get robbed or murdered

Spent the first 2.5 hours with the militsia who turned out to be fairly good company

I do a great angry soviet face

Call me when you’re bored…there’s a 1 in 3 chance I’ll be on a train somewhere

I’m back at that Turkish restaurant again, much to the wait staff’s overwhelming delight.

No, I didn’t get arrested, and I even made a friend!

March 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Hilarious (except for the “censored” poop comment). I sometimes wonder about Kazakhstan’s reality. It’s a rich place for history, but goodness! It’s also got to be a rough place to be during the winter.

    God bless you! I will try to reach out to you more. I am very interested in Central Asia, and the person-to-person contact with an American/English speaker is golden to me!

    From Eric Hatch of Maryland, father of two, husband of one, owner of 1/2 an Event Marketing business

    Comment by Eric Hatch | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. From what you describe, I imagine the reality of Kazakhstan. A country rich in history and beauty.

    Comment by Danclads Lins de Andrade | November 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment